Chairman Academic and Research
Urology division ,Medanta Institute of Kidney & Urology

After doing specialization in Urology, joined as faculty in 1979 and rose to the position of Professor and Head of the Department of Urology at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (1998 -2010). During a distinguished career of 35 years, contributed immensely to the growth of the science of urology at both National and International level. In the field of research, more than 300 publications in various national and International journals, written six books on Urology; contributed chapters in nine others, produced 18 teaching video films and trained over 110 M.Ch., post graduates who are today working all over India and some are occupying professorial chairs in USA. Dr. Gupta has performed more than 20,000 urological operations and acquired special expertise in endoscopic surgery for Benign enlargement of Prostate, carcinoma bladder, stricture Urethra, Endourology (PCNL & URS) for urinary stone disease, microscopic surgery for male infertility, laser surgery for stones and prostate, Prosthetic surgery for male erectile dysfunction and in laparoscopic and Robotic Urologic Surgery. Pioneer in the development of Robotic surgery at AIIMS and performed a large number of Robotic surgery for carcinoma Prostate, Carcinoma bladder, carcinoma Kidney and reconstructive surgery for a variety of Urological diseases. Dr. Gupta was elected as National Delegate, Indian National Section, Societe Internationale D'Urologie (1994-2000); Board member of Societe Internationale D' Urologie (2004-06), had many awards and honours notably Col. Sangham Lal Memorial Award by National academy of Medical Sciences; Dr. B.C.Roy National Award by Medical council of India for a distinguished teacher ( 2005). He served as President of the Urological Society of India (2007-2008) and is currently President of the Urological Association of Asia(2008-2010). Awarded Hon. Doctorate of Science by Rani Durgwati vishwa vidyalaya in 2009. He was Conferred "Padma Shree" by Government of India (2007) in recognition of the distinguished services to the nation. Dr. Gupta is Honorary Urologist to the Prime Minister of India since 2002.

Reads eBooks
Enter valid email address to subscribe for scheduled newsletter

Image Gallery

Email: info@prostatecarefoundation.org